Gamecocks to face tough competition in SEC schedule

Gamecocks to face tough competition in SEC schedule
Texas A&M's Anriel Howard (5) tries to control a loose ball as South Carolina's LeLe Grissett (24) gets a hand in during the second half of an NCAA women's basketball game against Texas A&M in Columbia, S.C. on Dec. 31, 2017.

COLUMBIA, SC (WIS) - A year removed from capturing their fourth straight SEC Tournament title, Dawn Staley and the Gamecocks will have another tough slate to navigate in the Southeastern Conference.

South Carolina will open SEC play at College Station on January 3 when they face Texas A&M. The Gamecocks will come home three days later to host Alabama on January 6 followed by a contest against Florida on January 10. Another key matchup for USC pits the Gamecocks against SEC East rival Missouri on January 21.

January will also feature critical road games against national runner-up Mississippi State (January 17) and Kentucky (January 31).

Carolina also has a tough stretch of games to end the regular season in February.  The Gamecocks travel to Tennessee on February 24 and Auburn on February 28. The team's regular-season finale will have the Gamecocks hosting Mississippi State on March 3.

In total, USC will see six teams that qualified for last season's NCAA Tournament.

Here's a full look at the conference schedule:

Thu., Jan. 3, at Texas A&M

Sun., Jan. 6, vs. Alabama

Thu., Jan. 10, vs. Florida

Sun., Jan. 13, at LSU

Thu., Jan. 17, at Mississippi State

Mon., Jan. 21, vs. Missouri

Mon., Jan. 28, vs. Vanderbilt

Thu., Jan. 31, at Kentucky

Sun., Feb. 3, at Arkansas

Thu., Feb. 7, vs. Ole Miss

Thu., Feb. 14, vs. Georgia

Sun., Feb. 17, at Florida

Thu., Feb. 21, vs. Kentucky

Sun., Feb. 24, at Tennessee

Thu., Feb. 28, at Auburn

Sun., Mar. 3, Mississippi State

Copyright 2018 WIS. All rights reserved.