5 new counties added to FEMA disaster declaration

Published: Oct. 7, 2015 at 2:02 AM EDT|Updated: Oct. 17, 2015 at 2:02 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

From the South Carolina Emergency Management Division:

COLUMBIA, SC - Homeowners, renters and business owners affected by the recent flooding in South Carolina can now register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency for disaster assistance.

The presidential disaster declaration makes federal assistance available to eligible individuals and business owners in the following counties:

  • Berkeley
  • Calhoun
  • Charleston
  • Clarendon
  • Darlington
  • Dorchester
  • Florence
  • Georgetown
  • Horry
  • Kershaw
  • Lee
  • Lexington
  • Orangeburg
  • Richland
  • Sumter
  • Williamsburg

READ MORE: Obama signs disaster declaration, orders federal aid for SC

Survivors in the designated South Carolina counties can register online at DisasterAssistance.gov. Applicants may also call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. If you use Video Relay Services, call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 24 hours a day until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

Assistance can include money for temporary housing and essential home repairs, and for other serious

disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs. Low-interest disaster loans from the Small Business Administration may also be available to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.

South Carolina survivors should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but under-insured applicants may receive help after their insurance claims have been settled.

For questions about flood insurance, National Flood Insurance Program policyholders can call 800-621-3362, Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. until further notice.

Registering with FEMA is required for federal aid, even if a survivor has registered with another disaster-relief organization. FEMA registrants must use the name that appears on their Social Security card.

Applicants will be asked for the following information:

  • Social Security number
  • Address of the damaged home or apartment
  • Description of the damage
  • Information about insurance coverage
  • A current contact telephone number
  • An address where they can receive mail
  • Bank account and routing numbers for direct deposit of funds