State's nuke plants have until 2015 to implement new safety regulations

Published: Jun. 19, 2013 at 8:56 PM EDT|Updated: Jun. 29, 2013 at 8:56 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

COLUMBIA, SC (WIS) - There are 13 nuclear reactors within 150 miles of the State House. All of those facilities will now undergo safety upgrades aimed at containing the threat from natural disasters.

There are seven nuclear facilities alone in South Carolina, and each will undergo a re-evaluation of the potential effects of an earthquake or flooding disaster. The Nuclear Regulatory Commission is also requiring plants have a blackout plan in the event power is lost indefinitely, and the threat of radiation is present.

A new statewide app has also been created organize emergency management crews, monitor weather conditions, and provide critical evacuation information also be released to the public next fall. But the council also stressed that South Carolina plants are safe and that's unlikely to change.

"In the past, we have no planned for a multi-unit event," said John Pelchat, a government liaison with the NRC. "That's a change and to deal with combinations of external hazards. So we're taking a safe fleet and making it safer."

All the nuclear plants in South Carolina have until 2015 to implement the new regulations.

Copyright 2013 WIS. All rights reserved.