Columbia Mayor Daniel Rickenmann, council members sworn in

Watch WIS News 10 at 6 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Published: Jan. 4, 2022 at 2:46 PM EST|Updated: Jan. 4, 2022 at 3:24 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WIS) - Mayor Daniel Rickenmann was sworn in as the 45th Mayor of Columbia Tuesday at about 3:30 p.m.

The ceremony took place at the 1700 Block of Main Street. City council members Dr. Aditi Bussells (At-Large), Tina Herbert (District I), and Joe Taylor (District IV) were sworn in as well.

Below was live coverage of the ceremony:

Rickenmann was elected on Nov. 16, 2021, after a runoff election with candidate Tameika Isaac Devine.

Those official results tallied 10,602 votes (52.02%) for Rickenmann and 9,778 votes (47.98%) for Isaac Devine.

FULL STORY | Daniel Rickenmann elected Columbia’s next mayor

Rickenmann has been a longtime resident of Columbia since 1988. He earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of South Carolina in 1992 and was first elected to the Columbia City Council in 2004.

In 2012, Rickenmann did not seek re-election to focus on his family and business. In 2017, he ran once again and has been serving as the Columbia City Councilmember for District IV.

Through his track record of public service, he eventually decided to run for Mayor of Columbia with his love for the city and vision for advancing the city’s safety, business ecosystem, and infrastructure.

Copyright 2022 WIS. All rights reserved.

Notice a spelling or grammar error in this article? Click or tap here to report it. Please include the article’s headline.