Delhomme, Smith highlight 2019 Panthers’ Hall of Honor class

Delhomme, Smith highlight 2019 Panthers’ Hall of Honor class
Jake Delhomme, Steve Smith, Wesley Walls, and Jordan Gross were selected as inductees for the Carolina Panthers' Hall of Honor. (Photos courtesy of AP Photo)

CHARLOTTE, NC (WIS) - Former quarterback Jake Delhomme and wide receiver Steve Smith are among four players selected to join the Carolina Panthers’ Hall of Honor.

Delhomme joined the Panthers in 2003 and put together a 53-37 record with the team. The Louisiana-Lafayette product guided the Panthers to Super Bowl XXXVIII in 2003 and the NFC Championship in 2005. Delhomme is second in franchise history in pass attempts (2,669), completions (1,580), passing yards (19,258), and touchdown passes (120).

Smith was picked by the Panthers in the 2001 NFL Draft. During his time in the NFL, he played 182 games for Carolina on his way to etching his name in the team’s record books. Smith is the Panthers’ all-time leading receiver with 836 catches, 12,197 yards, and 67 touchdowns. He also had 43 100-yard receiving games. Smith also holds team records for most receiving yards in a season (1,563), and most 100-yard receiving games in a season (9). Smith owns the longest streak of catching a pass in consecutive games with 106 games. Smith is a five-time Pro Bowl selection.

Also joining the Carolina Hall of Honor is tight end Wesley Walls. The former Ole Miss standout played 98 games for the Panthers and is the all-time leader among tight ends with 44 touchdown catches. He is also second in team history among tight ends with 324 catches and 3,902 receiving yards. Walls is also a five-time Pro Bowl selection.

Offensive tackle Jordan Gross rounds out this year’s class for Carolina’s Hall of Honor. Gross was drafted by the Panthers in 2003 and started 167 games, which is the most by any player in team history. Gross missed just nine games during his 11-year NFL career with the Panthers. His efforts with Carolina also earned him three Pro Bowl appearances and AP All-Pro first-team honors in 2008.

The Panthers will hold the induction ceremony at a home game this upcoming season. The date of the ceremony will be announced at a later time.

Copyright 2019 WIS. All rights reserved.