Dabo Swinney adds 5th coach of the year honor to his 2015 resume - wistv.com - Columbia, South Carolina

Dabo Swinney adds 5th coach of the year honor to his 2015 resume

Dabo Swinney Dabo Swinney

PHILADELPHIA, PA (WIS) - Dabo Swinney has added another coach of the year honor to his 2015 resume.

Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced today that Clemson University’s Dabo Swinney has been selected as the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award winner for the 2015 season. Swinney led the Tigers to 13-0 record and a No. 1 ranking during their undefeated regular season.
This is the fifth national coach of the year award for Swinney. He has also been named by Associated Press, Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News, and Home Depot (ESPN).
With Swinney at the helm, the Tigers recorded wins against three Top 10 teams (Notre Dame, Florida State and North Carolina) in 2015, and posted nine straight games with at least 500 yards of total offense. The Tigers are coming off a 45–37 victory over the North Carolina Tar Heels in the ACC Championship Game.
Swinney looks to extend the nation-leading 16-game win streak as Clemson faces the Oklahoma Sooners in the Orange Bowl, which serves as a College Football Playoff semifinal game. With a victory, the Tigers would face either the Michigan State Spartans or Alabama Crimson Tide as they seek to win their first national title since 1981. Swinney has compiled a 74–26 record as the Tigers’ head coach since taking over for Terry Bowden in 2008.
Maxwell Football Club Executive Director Mark Wolpert commented, “Coach Swinney has engineered a tremendous season for the Clemson football program. The team’s 13-0 record is a great testament to the hard work of Coach and his staff, and also to the dedication shown by the student-athletes involved in the program at Clemson University.”
Coach Swinney will be honored on Friday, March 11, 2016 at the 79th Maxwell Club National Awards Gala, which will be held at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City, NJ.  Other honorees that will be recognized at the event include Maxwell Award winner Derrick Henry (Alabama) and Bednarik
Award winner Tyler Matakevich (Temple). 

Copyright 2015 WIS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly