Bridge replacements slated to take place across the Midlands - - Columbia, South Carolina |

Bridge replacements slated to take place across the Midlands

Posted: Updated:

The South Carolina Department of Transportation has announced that a total of 12 bridges have been scheduled for replacement across the Midlands.

Kimberly Corley of SCDOT says that the bridges will be replaced due to structural deficiencies.

Bridges in Kershaw County, Lee County, Lexington County, Richland County, and Sumter County are slated to have improvements between now and June 30, 2015.

The Watson Street and Mount Zion Road bridges are listed for Kershaw County. Lee County's Shiver Pond Road and Rembert Church Road are also listed. The bridge on Princeton Road in Lexington County has been listed as well as Richland County's Firetown Road bridge. Sumter County will have five bridge closures (East Foxworth Mill Road, Tearcoat Bridge Road, Westbury Mill Road, Dubose Siding Road, and Bell Road)

Notification of closure dates for each bridge will be announced for each bridge closer to the beginning of construction.

Copyright 2014 WIS. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow