Former SCGOP chairman elected to SC State board - - Columbia, South Carolina

Former SCGOP chairman elected to SC State board


Four incumbent members of the South Carolina State University Board of Trustees were voted off the board Wednesday afternoon by state lawmakers.

Board Chairman Dr. Walter Tobin, Maurice Washington, Linda Edwards-Duncan, and Jackie Epps will no longer represent the board on July 1.

Tobin was ousted and will be replaced by former South Carolina Republican Party Chairman Katon Dawson, who unsuccessfully sought to become the chairman of the Republican National Committee back in 2009.

According to a legislative source, Dawson was elected to the board for his fundraising ability and a pledge to right the finances at the beleaguered university.

Click here to read our Storify coverage of the SC State Board vote.

Copyright 2013 WIS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly