8 South Carolina university presidents sign pro-gun control peti - wistv.com - Columbia, South Carolina

8 South Carolina university presidents sign pro-gun control petition


Eight South Carolina university presidents have waded into the gun control debate after signing a letter asking for stricter gun rules in the wake of the Newtown massacre.

The letter, written by a group calling themselves "College Presidents for Gun Safety" asks Congress to let several measures become law.

The group wants Congress to oppose weapons on college campuses, end the "gun show loophole", reinstate the assault weapons ban, and require more rigorous safety standards for all guns.

Those South Carolina university presidents come from all over the state, and that list includes:

Benjamin Dunlap, Wofford College
Anthony DiGiorgio, Winthrop University
Colleen Perry Keith, Spartanburg Methodist College
Todd S. Voss, Southern Wesleyan University
Claude C. Lilly, Presbyterian College
Walt Griffin, Limestone College
Elizabeth A. Fleming, Converse College
Robert Wyatt, Coker College

Congress has already begun to draft several gun control bills.

Copyright 2013 WIS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly