SC's Congressmen vote to suspend debt ceiling until May - - Columbia, South Carolina |

HOW THEY VOTED: SC's Congressmen vote to suspend debt ceiling until May

Posted: Updated:

All five of South Carolina's Republican members of the House of Representatives voted 'yes', and the lone Democrat voted 'no' on House Resolution 325, which suspends the nation's debt ceiling until May 19, 2013.

Joe Wilson, Jeff Duncan, Trey Gowdy, Mick Mulvaney, and Tom Rice all voted 'yes' on the measure, which did pass the House by a vote of 285 to 144.

Mulvaney quickly released a statement following the vote to explain his support for the bill.

"This is a first step, albeit a small one, toward curing Washington's addiction to spending," said Mulvaney.

The bill comes with a string attached. If the Senate fails to pass a spending measure, lawmakers will receive no pay until the measure passes.

"The House has acted," said Rep. Joe Wilson in a statement. "I encourage the Senate to do its job and pass a budget, or suffer the consequences and have their pay withheld."

However, Rep. Jim Clyburn voted against the bill. Senior Democrats in the House called the bill merely a gimmick. 

The measure now heads to the Senate.

Copyright 2013 WIS. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow