Shaw on QB award watch list

COLUMBIA, SC (WIS) - University of South Carolina junior quarterback Connor Shaw is one of 34 candidates named to the 2012 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List announced today.

Shaw, a 6-1, 207-pounder from Flowery Brach, Ga., has won eight of his nine career starts, while completing 66.1 percent of his passes for 1,671 yards with 15 touchdowns while tossing just eight interceptions. An excellent runner, Shaw has carried the ball 167 times for 690 yards with eight scores, including one 100-yard performance.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 college football season.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6.

The 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Copyright 2012 WIS. All rights reserved.