Lattimore named SEC freshman of the year

Lattimore scores a touchdown against Troy
Lattimore scores a touchdown against Troy
Marcus Lattimore
Marcus Lattimore

ATLANTA (AP) - South Carolina's sensational running back Marcus Lattimore was named freshman of the year by the Associated Press Monday.

Lattimore was the unanimous choice for freshman of the year, as well as being named on all ballots for running back on the AP All-Southeastern Conference team.

Lattimore has scored a school record 19 touchdowns this season, one shy of the SEC freshman record of 20, set by Tennessee's Reggie Cobb in 1987. Lattimore's 1,198 rushing yards this season is also seventh among freshmen in SEC history. He is the first Carolina back to eclipse the 1,000-yard mark since the 2000 season.

He was joined on the first team by sophomore wide receiver Alshon Jeffery. Jeffery was the SEC's leading receiver with 79 catches for 1,387 yards, both school records.

Sophomore defensive end Devin Taylor was the third Gamecock named to the All-SEC first-team. Taylor finished fourth in the league with 7.5 sacks, eighth with 12.0 tackles for loss and 15th with nine pass breakups.

Sophomore cornerback Stephon Gilmore earned a spot on the second team unit. He led the team in tackles with 71 from his cornerback position and tied for the team lead with two interceptions.

Top-ranked Auburn claimed three awards. Cam Newton is a unanimous choice for offensive player of the year, Nick Fairley is the pick for top defensive player and Gene Chizik gets the nod for coach of the year. Newton and Fairley are both unanimous first-team selections. So is one of their teammates, offensive lineman Lee Ziemba.

LSU has three unanimous first-team picks: defensive tackle Drake Nevis, cornerback Patrick Peterson and kicker Josh Jasper. Auburn and LSU lead with four players each on the elite squad.

Related Story:

Copyright 2010 WIS. All Rights Reserved. AP contributed to this report.