Lt. Gov., state officers also sworn in Wednesday - - Columbia, South Carolina

Lt. Gov., state officers also sworn in Wednesday

(Columbia) Jan. 16, 2003 - South Carolina swear in more than its 115th governor Wednesday at the 93rd Inaugural. While Mark Sanford's inauguration was the marquee event on the South Steps of the Statehouse, other state government officers also assumed positions to which the public elected them in November.

State Senator Andre Bauer was sworn in as lieutenant governor of South Carolina. Senate President Pro Tem Glenn McConnell administered the oath to Bauer, who defeated Democrat Phil Leventis in the November election.

Bauer replaces Bob Peeler, who ran unsuccessfully for the Republican gubernatorial nomination last year.

Bauer then have swore South Carolina's new constitutional officers into office. Those taking the office were Commissioner of Agriculture Charles Ray Sharpe, Adjutant General Major General Stanhope Sifford Spears, State Superintendent of Education Inez Moore Tenenbaum, Comptroller General Richard Eckstrom, Attorney General Henry Dargan McMaster, Treasurer Grady Leslie Patterson, Jr. and Secretary of State Mark Hammond.

Governor-elect Marshall Clement "Mark" Sanford, Jr., was sworn in at a little after noon, then read his Inaugural Address.

Six recently elected circuit-solicitors also officially took office Wednesday. Six incumbent solicitors from the 3rd, 5th, 6th, 12th, 13th and 15th circuits were sworn-in at 3:00 inside Supreme Court Chambers by Chief Justice Jean Toal.

The new solicitors will be the chief prosecuting officers for their judicial areas for the next four years.

updated 8:51am by Chris Rees

Powered by Frankly